Finally Going to SunTrust Park (Well, in June)

A little over two years ago, I picked up my southern sticks and moved to Washington, D.C. Nats Park is now my “home town” ballpark, which isn’t ideal, but the location has allowed me to check out numerous ballparks, including three MLB stadiums last year.

However, I have yet to make it back to Atlanta for a homecoming trip to SunTrust Park.

Until now (well, in June)!

I’m getting hitched in just a couple months, and wouldn’t you know, the Braves in in Atlanta the weekend of my wedding. So, on the Friday before the wedding, I’m heading over to SunTrust Park to check it out, see my favorite club play in their new digs. Who knows? The way things are going, maybe they’ll still be playing well by the time late-June rolls around.

Or is that too much to ask?

I’ve heard mixed things about SunTrust Park. The obvious (they’re not in Atlanta anymore) to the more surprising (the concourses are a bit tight), but I’m ready to look at it with a fresh pair of eyes. I’m still not thrilled with what the Braves did and how they did it, but we can’t turn back the clock (except when wearing throwback unis) and convince the Braves to stay in Turner Field, so it is what it is.

One of my best buddies, groomsmen, and brewer in Atlanta said the Terrapin Tap Room is doing some of the best stuff the heralded Athens brewery’s done in years, so I’m excited to enjoy some libations, walk around the park, and finally get to root for my home team in a park I haven’t visited.

Until then, I hope to keep up the blogging. I recently wrote a piece for my day job about how minor league players are getting screwed, which inspired me to start writing about baseball more than I was.

Leave a comment