To PNC Park We Go!

pnc-park-1587285_960_720

PNC Park seems to always find itself near the top in annual lists of ballpark rankings. Even on television, you can see why. The home of the Pirates is an intimate park, nestled along the banks of the Allegheny River, with stunning views of downtown Pittsburgh. Aside from AT&T Park in San Francisco, few modern parks receive the rave views bestowed upon PNC.

After putting PNC near the top of my “must-see” lists, I’m beyond excited to trek to Pittsburgh over Memorial Day weekend for a game. Aside from a slew of Nationals games last year (including a game against the Braves where the heat index swelled to 115 degrees), I failed in my quest to get to a second MLB park. In an effort to remedy that, I’m taking advantage of the long weekend to see what Pittsburgh has to offer. .

Look for plenty of pictures and yes, a full review of the adventure. I’m going to do my best to explore the park more than I have at other parks. I’ve been far too focused on watching games when I visit a new park (which seems less important if you’re not personally invested in the outcome). I want to change this, in order to get a much better idea of the park, it’s atmosphere, fans, offerings (food, entertainment, history, etc.), and less about watching the game. Frankly, I don’t care who wins the game on Sunday, although sticking to my philosophy of “rooting for the home team” means I’m a Pirates fan on Sunday night.

Anyways, stay tuned for the Pittsburgh adventure! Oh, and please don’t let it rain.

Leave a Reply

