Day 1: Buckets of Rain

A representation of what happened last night

The last few items were tossed into a suitcase as Bob Dylan’s “Buckets of Rain” was playing in the background. Little did I know that the song perfectly represented the kind of Root for the Home Team would have on its inaugural quest. As I headed west toward Will’s house, dark clouds filled the western sky; at the time, they didn’t concern me. After making a few final preparations, we headed to Rome, all of our gear in tow. By the time we got to Rockmart, GA, the skies opened up.

The rain fell in sheets and thundered rumbled across the Northwest Georgia sky. Checking the radar, it appeared there wouldn’t be a problem seeing baseball in Rome. It was clearing to the north, and the rain was heading south. We were in the clear!

Or not…

We arrived in Rome, greeted by a friend and settled in for a relaxing afternoon. Front row tickets were our, courtesy of another friend and an interview with Rome general manager Michael Dunn was on tap 45 minutes before game time.  Everything was going great, until I checked my email.

Despite the fact it wasn’t raining in Rome, a day of unexpected rain had provided for unplayable conditions on the field, and the game was canceled. The first significant showers to hit North Georgia in weeks delayed what seemed to be the perfectly planned long weekend of baseball. We started looking to see if any other regional MiLB teams were at home. Chattanooga Lookouts? No. Nashville Sounds? No. The Huntsville Stars however, the second team of our trip, had a game at 6:43pm Central Daylight Time. We were just over two hours from Huntsville and it was about 3:00pm CDT. We could make it.

Will and I departed Rome as quickly as we had gotten there, saying goodbye to who should’ve been our courteous host for the evening. We hit the road and then we hit the rain. Buckets of rain fell from the sky as we entered Alabama accompanied by awe inspiring cloud-to-ground lightning strikes. I didn’t say anything, but it seemed that our opportunity to see baseball on Day 1 of Root for the Home Team was growing dimmer by the mile.

I checked the radar again and it looked like it was no longer raining in Huntsville, a good sign, assuming they had the tarp on the field and a good drainage system. A quick check of the Stars’ website and the game appeared good to go. After passing creeks that had spilled their banks, with the rain still coming down, my confidence was growing dim. I checked the Stars’ webpage again.

A big “CNCL” signifying canceled was written over the August 4 game. We were already halfway to Huntsville, with no hope of seeing a game on Day 1. The day was not a total loss. We pulled into Huntsville, making our way to the home of Will’s friends Heath and Kelly. A day of disappointment turned into an evening of relaxation and enjoyment. Good local bar-b-que, strumming on guitars, and enjoying a cold beer made up for the lack of baseball and allowed Will and I to enjoy the company of good people while resting up for a weekend of baseball. By the end of the evening, the rain out was forgotten and we rested up for a new day of the beautiful game.

In the midst of this unplanned R&R, Will and I contemplated adjusting our trip to make room for a fourth game, but we thought better of it and have shortened this trip to three games. Assuming there’s no rain (if the forecast holds up we should be ok) for the rest of the weekend, we’ll remain in Huntsville tonight for the Stars game and then onto Birmingham tomorrow and wrap up in Montgomery on Sunday.

We’ve already discussed rescheduling our trip to Rome and our interview with GM Michael Dunn and we’ll keep everyone informed of when we’ll head up there, on a day when blue skies and baseball are aplenty.

The Huntsville Stars take on the Tennessee Smokies tonight at 6:43pm CDT (don’t ask me why they start at such an odd time, but we’ll find out) and we’ll be live tweeting from the game and discovering what drives baseball fans in Huntsville, AL to root for the home team.

“Buckets of Rain”

By: Bob Dylan

Buckets of rain
Buckets of tears
Got all them buckets coming out of my ears
Buckets of moonbeams in my hand
You got all the love honey baby
I can stand.

I been meek
And hard like an oak
I seen pretty people disappear like smoke
Friends will arrive friends will disappear
If you want me honey baby
I’ll be here.

I like your smile
And your fingertips
I like the way that you move your hips
I like the cool way you look at me
Everything about you is bringing me
Misery.

Little red wagon
Little red bike
I ain’t no monkey but I know what I like
I like the way you love me strong and slow
I’m taking you with me honey baby
When I go.

Life is sad
Life is a bust
All ya can do is do what you must
You do what you must do and ya do it well
I’ll do it for you honey baby
Can’t you tell?

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] a failed attempt to see the Rome Braves play last August, I am returning to Rome on Sunday to see the Braves take on the Kannapolis […]

    Reply

  2. […] Anyways, stay tuned for the Pittsburgh adventure! Oh, and please don’t let it rain. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

